First Post…. ugh Here We Go!

I’ve kept a journal since I was 10 years old, and believe me… after reading a page or two, you’d probably want to throw up. I’ve never written about anything deeper other than which guy I liked at the time (or who was number one on the list…) so this whole blogging thing is going to be pretty new for me!

So who am I? My name is Katelyn. I am 19 years old and about to start my sophomore year in college, studying music education/voice. I love song writing, recording, singing, playing piano, and long walks in the rain… not really actually. I hate getting wet. Anyways! I’ve had the privilege of growing up in a Christian home with two godly parents. When I was 6 years old, my dad (who is a pastor) announced that the church was going to have a baptism service in a few weeks so that afternoon, I told my dad that I wanted to get baptized. Well, that’s not exactly how it works- and dad explained that before getting baptized, I needed to accept Christ as my Savior, and that baptism was a public demonstration of my salvation and my new commitment to God. I remember that afternoon clearer than any day. We sat in the living room as dad took me through the plan of salvation and that afternoon, I began a relationship with God. 

We all have ups and downs in life, and believe me- I’ve had my share! But my faith in God has brought me through each trial and so here I am. Sharing my thoughts to whoever is bored enough to cross my blog. 

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately (for a change…) and realizing that I am not half the person I need to be. I know I need to work on and change areas in my life, but until now, I haven’t been willing to make those changes. In order to make these changes, I have created a list of the top 9 areas I need to work on and I will be sharing those with you on my blog for a few reasons. 1, I need something and someone to keep me accountable. 2, Perhaps a reader might be struggling in one of the same areas as me and perhaps I could be an encouragement. 3, Who doesn’t want to share some of their deeper thoughts and feelings on the internet, right? 

Okay, so here’s my list of things I want to work on. I know that I can’t do this on my own- and that God is going to have to help me!

  • Patience
  • Procrastination
  • Self-Image
  • Laziness
  • Self-Control
  • Arguing 🙂
  • Self-Centerdness
  • Treating Others
  • Fear and Worry

I’d like to ask you to pray with me- that I will stick to this, rely on God for help and use the one life God has given me to bring glory to Him.

 

Leave a Reply

